Return to Headlines


The Pioneer Chapter of the National Honor Society welcomed 13 new members during induction ceremonies held Dec. 19 at George C. Crawford Auditorium.

National Honor Society

Front row: Ty Zepp, Leah Johnson, Eirinn Mangan, Alex Tedesco, Leah McElheny, Allison Chitty, Elsa Kless, Ben Westberg. Back row: Nick Tillinghast, Jillian Byers, Allison Kopinski, Abigail Papke, Alex Miley.


The inductees join the 56 current members, many of whom were on hand to escort the new members to the sign-in book. Many of the family members at the ceremony were once members of NHS as well. 
Pioneer's NHS chapter is advised by Mrs. Bridget Yansick and Mrs. Stephanie Hogan. Following a welcome from principal Mark Schultz, Mrs. Yansick introduced special guests and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by NHS president Karch Forward.
The following current NHS members spoke on the key attributes for new members: Ella Kehl (knowledge), Cora Blackwell (service), Maxwell Hughes (leadership), Nathan Tillinghast (character), and Karch Forward (scholarship).  Then the new members and escorts were introduced individually by Karch Forward. 
Guest speaker was high school social studies teacher Mrs. Kellyne Brown, who spoke on the importance of leadership.
A reception for the honorees was held after the ceremony.